Overview

Licensing for a SharePortals instance is managed on a per Microsoft Office 365 user basis. Licensing entitles a user to utilise the SharePortals interface to consume application related content stored within the underling SharePoint site.

The first time you install SharePortals, you are given an allocation of 50 user licenses for a free trial period represented on the left of the interface, which is usually 30 days. After that period, if no user licenses have been purchased, the SharePortals interface will become inaccessible to all users no matter when they were added. To re-enable the interface, at least 1 user license must then be purchased

To buy licensing click Buy SharePortals or click here which will redirect the user to our website for purchasing options.

Licensing is allocated on a simple pool basis automatically, therefore if you want to ensure the correct users are licensed, you need to ensure only the appropriate users are added to the licensing screen.

Adding a User

The first time you see the licensing screen, it will list the user account which was used to install the application. To add additional users, click Add a New User and you will see a new row with 2 fields:

  1. User ID (email): Type in the email address of a Microsoft Office 365 user within your organisation. If this is typed incorrectly, a red user symbol will appear when saving the user entry
  2. Add to SharePoint Group: By default this will be the SP Licenced Users group which is the group created by default for standard users . Groups are covered further in User Permissions

You can click the Add a New User button multiple times to batch add a number of users.

When you are finished adding one or more users, click Save.

Errors when adding users

In order to assign a SharePortals license to a user they must already be licensed in Office 365 and SharePoint online. Typically, users added to an Office 365 tenant are copied to the SharePoint identity database after being added to Office 365. This could take a few minutes. If a user cannot be found in the SharePoint identity database the user will be listed as shown below:

Removing a User

To remove a user simply click the Remove button on the appropriate row, then click Save. Note: If a user license is removed this does not remove or alter the stored content in any way.

The Default User

The Default User should be assigned to the main administrator of the application, and should be an administrator account See: User Permissions. The Default User does not consume a license, and by default is the user who installed the application. To change this to another user, click Set Default under Actions

Last Modified: 2022/06/08

Feedback

Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Please do not use this for support questions.
www.shareportals.co.uk

Post Comment